Amr Zedan (0), Manuel Elizalde (+2), Matias “Bocha“ (+3) und Ignacio “Nachi“ Heguy (+8) are the winners of the H.H President of UAE Polo Cup 2012. In a thrilling finale the four came out on top with a score of 9:6 against Team Habtoor Polo with Mohammed Al Habtoor, Guillermo Cuitino, Fran Elizalde and Hamza Mawaz.
Even when Team Habtoor Polo started the game with a goal from Guillermo Cuitino, Team Zedan still answered in the first chukka with two goals and did not give its upcoming victory away.
The Argentinian +8-scorer Ignacio “Nachi“ Heguy took a big part of this victory by scoring many times – not only in the final. With 28 goals in the tournament Heguy was top scorer of the professionals. The top scorer of the amateurs, Amr Zedan, also came from the winning team.
Ignacio Huey, having played with his team for only one season: “I am so happy that I could help my team to win this tournament, but it was team work. I think the fact that our name-giving patron became top scorer of the amateurs shows how much power is in this team and that we are starting to play as one. This is a great season for us and we are happy to win the biggest tournament of the year. We are also looking forward to more common tournaments.” Altogether eight teams fought for victory at the H.H President of UAE Polo Cup 2012 at Ghantoot Racing and Equestrian Club.