At the past weekend team Silex, consisting of K. Shakib, A. Taranco, S. and F. Cernadas Serra, defeated team K2 (V. Kumar, D. Gallego, G. Mazzini and A. Alvarez) by 12-10 and was crowned as undefeated champion of the tournament Memorial Manuel de Prado y Colón de Carvajal. Four teams with a handicap of 10 to 12 goals competed against each other at the Río Sotogrande fields of the Santa María Polo Club in Spain. The event was held prior to the 43rd Land Rover International Polo Tournament, Spain’s leading polo event of the year with some of the world’s leading players in action.

The clubs organizes the tournament in honour of Don Manuel Prado y Colón de Carvajal (1931-2009), in memory of his great contribution to the development of the sport of polo in Sotogrande and his permanent support and cooperation in promoting the sport throughout Southern Spain. He instituted the Toñanejo Cup in 1993, a classic on the tournament calendar of the club, which took place for the twentieth time last year and is now held under the name of Memorial Manuel Prado y Colón de Carvajal. The tradition founded by D. Manuel Prado y Colón de Carvajal was inherited by his son D. Manuel Prado Eulate, currently Honorary Member of the Club, who participated in numerous tournaments at the club, winning the Gold Cup in three editions in 1982, 1986 and 1990 with the team Toñanejo.