The Hublot Polo Gold Cup Gstaad celebrates its 20th anniversary. In 1996, the tournament was initiated. Long since, the event, which is held on the Gstaad-Saanen airport field, is firmly established in the European tournament calendar.

For this year’s anniversary edition of the tournament, which takes place from 13-16 August 2015, four international teams have announced their attendance: Team Banque Baring Brothers Sturdza led by their captain Cedric Schweri (SUI), Team E.I. Sturdza Investment Funds headed by their captain Mohammed El SEWEDY (EGY), Team Gstaad Palace led by Michael Brüggler (SUI) and finally Team SIR and their captain Andreas Tombor (HUN).

The motto of this year’s event will be Switzerland and its traditions. In a typical Helvetic ambiance, the programme features four days of intensive sport and a multitude of attractions. The kick-off of the celebrations will begin on Thursday, 13th August, with the opening of the official polo village and the qualifying matches. The traditional and spectacular Grand parade will take place on Friday, 14th August at 4pm, where all the polo players proceed on horseback through the streets of Gstaad. On Saturday, 15th August, matches resume as of 1pm with the semi-finals.

On Sunday, 16th August, to celebrate with due dignity this 20th anniversary, festivities will commence early with the first polo match at 11am followed by an exceptional parade: marching bands, Bernese dragons, aerial show and many other surprises will await the attending viewers. In keeping with the theme of local traditions, the entire organising committee and all their guests will be proudly wearing traditional Swiss attires!

As every year, the tournament is open to the public and is free of charge. A special child care facility named “Kinder-Paradise”, offering lots of fun activities, will be open on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday, from 11am until 5.30pm.

The teams:
Banque Baring Brothers Sturdza (+14)
Cedric Schweri (0)
Cris Falk (+1)
Marcos Riglos (+5)
Olavo Novaes (+8)

Gstaad Palace (+14)
Michael Brüggler (0)
Segundo Condesse Stanga (+3)
Marcelo Pascual (+6)
Juan de Ezcurra (+5)

E.I. Sturzda Investment Funds (+14)
Ignacio Bello (+2)
Mohammed el Sewedy (+2)
Juan Manuel Gonzales (+4)
Eduardo Menendez (+6)

SIR (+13)
Andreas Tombor (0)
Juan Jose Storni (+5)
Juan Druz Greguoli (+4)
Matias Machado (+4)