Zedan Polo is the first team to qualify for the McLaren Cup Semifinals after winning today´s match against Bin Drai at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club. Patron Amr Zedan´s team defeated Bin Drai by 10 goals to 8 after a great performance and an outstanding game by ten goaler Pablo Mac Donough. After this victory, Zedan ends the qualification round with perfect numbers and makes it to the next stage.

A thrilling start gave a quick and big difference to Zedan in the scoreboard. In only 14 minutes Zedan achieved a 5 goal difference (6-1) and with that handicap they controlled the rest of the game. Despite a battling Bin Drai team, that put pressure on Zedan in the second half, the team led by Pablo Mac Donough could handle the game for a deserved victory that gave them the ticket to the semifinals.

In the first match of the day Desert Palm 1 defeated UAE Polo by 7 goals to 5.

The McLaren Cup 2015 will continue tomorrow with a busy day of polo at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club and Desert Palm Polo Club. In the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club, Habtoor Polo and Abu Dhabi will play from 2 pm followed by Mahra against Ghantoot. At the Desert Palm Polo Club, from 4 pm, Desert Palm 2 wil play against Edrees.

The McLaren Cup is part of the Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series and one of the most important and prestigious polo events in the region. The McLaren Cup be followed by the Julius Baer Gold Cup, which will commence on Monday, 23rd February 2015 and end on Friday, 13th March 2015.

The teams:

Zedan Polo (+18)
Amr Zedan (0)
Martín Gándara (+4)
Pablo Mac Donough (+10)
Facundo Fernández Llorente (+4)

Bin Drai Polo (+18)
Saeed Bin Drai (0)
Agustín Canale (+6)
Manuel Fernández Llorente (+6)
Raúl Laplacette (+6)

UAE Polo (+18)
Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammad (0)
Santiago Stirling (+4)
Lucas Monteverde (+9)
Ignacio Acuña (+5)

Desert Palm I (+18)
Rashid Al Bawardy (+2)
Martín Valent (+4)
Santiago Laborde (+6)
Facundo Castagnola (+6)

Mahra Polo (+18)
Rashid Al Habtoor (0)
Guy Gibrat (+5)
Marcos Araya (+7)
Ignacio González (+6)

Habtoor Polo (+18)
Ahmed Al Habtoor (0)
Guillermo Cuitiño (+6)
Santiago Cernadas (+6)
Martín Iturraspe (+6)

Desert Palm II (+18)
Tarik Al Bawardy (+1)
Tom Brodie (+2)
Diego Cavanagh (+8)
Matías Torres Zavaleta (+7)

Abu Dhabi (+17)
Faris Al Yabhouni (0)
Felipe Martínez Ferrario (+4)
Hugo Barabucci (+6)
Alfredo Cappella (+7)

Ghantoot (+18)
Ali Al Merri (0)
Felipe Llorente (+3)
Juan M. Zavaleta (+7)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)

Edrees Polo (+17)
Sultan Edrees (0)
Juan P. Chavanne (+5)
Juan Ruiz Guiñazú (+7)
Pierre H. H’Goumou (+5)