Today the press conference for the 2015 Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series (Dubai Open) was held at the Habtoor Grand Beach Resort & Spa. The tournament, now in its sixth year, is considered one of the most important and prestigious polo events in the region. Once again, the event is held under the Patronage of HH Sheikh Maktoum bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai, who has supported the tournament since inception.

Mohammed Al Habtoor, founder of the tournament: “The Dubai Gold Cup Series gets better and better each year. In a short space of time, The Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series has become the highest handicapped tournament in the Middle East, Africa and Asia. The tournament, which started off as a 10 to 12-goal handicap in 2010, to a 16-goal handicap in 2014, has now increased even further to an 18-goal handicap this year. This shows that Dubai is now firmly on the world map as a polo destination.”

A total of ten international teams will participate in this year’s Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series. The tournament will officially start with the McLaren Cup 2015 on Friday, 23rd 2015. The final will be held on Friday, 6th February 2015. It will be followed by the Julius Baer Gold Cup, which will commence on Monday, 23rd February 2015 and end on Friday, 13th March 2015.

The teams of the 2015 Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series:
Mahra Polo – Patron: Rashid Al Habtoor
Bin Drai Polo Team – Patron: Saeed Bin Drai
Habtoor Polo Team – Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor ~ McLaren Cup
Julius Baer Team by Al Habtoor – Patron: Mohammed Al Habtoor ~ Julius Baer Gold Cup
Ghantoot Polo Team – Patron: HH Sheikh Falah Bin Zayed Al Nahyan
UAE Polo Team – Patron: Her Highness Sheikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum
Abu Dhabi Polo Team – Patron: Faris Al Yabhouni
Zedan Polo Team – Patron: Amr Zedan
Desert Palm 1 Polo Team – Patron: Rashid Al Bawardi
Desert Palm 2 Polo Team – Patron: Tarik Al Bawardi
Edrees Polo Team ~ Patron: Sultan Edrees

Dubai Polo Gold Cup Series 2015

Presentation of the teams and trophies. (© Gonzalo Etcheverry/DPGC 2015)