The teams Desert Palm 2 and Ghantoot have won their respective matches yesterday at the Dubai Polo & Equestrian Club and have made it to the final of the McLaren Cup 2015. Both matches were highly competitive and the teams Desert Palm 2 and Ghantoot won by narrow margin.

In the first match of the day Desert Palm 2 faced Bin Drai. During the first half of the match, Bin Drai dominated the match, but in the final two chukkas Desert Palm 2 found its way back into play, pressed forward and levelled the tie. 8-goaler Diego Cavanagh scored the decisive goal following a 60-yard-penalty and his team Desert Palm 2 won the match by 7-6.

The second meeting of the day between the teams Ghantoot and Zedan was marked by competitive spirit and desire to win. Until the last minute nobody could have said which team would win the match. Alejandro Muzzio (+8) scored the match-winning goal and with an end result of 9-8 his team Ghantoot, previous year’s winner of the tournament, had made it to the final. If Ghantoot will be able to defend its title will be decided on Friday, 6th February 2015.

The teams:

Zedan Polo (+18)
Amr Zedan (0)
Martín Gándara (+4)
Pablo Mac Donough (+10)
Facundo Fernández Llorente (+4)

Bin Drai Polo (+18)
Saeed Bin Drai (0)
Agustín Canale (+6)
Manuel Fernández Llorente (+6)
Raúl Laplacette (+6)

UAE Polo (+18)
Sheikha Maitha Bint Mohammad (0)
Santiago Stirling (+4)
Lucas Monteverde (+9)
Ignacio Acuña (+5)

Desert Palm I (+18)
Rashid Al Bawardy (+2)
Martín Valent (+4)
Santiago Laborde (+6)
Facundo Castagnola (+6)

Mahra Polo (+18)
Rashid Al Habtoor (0)
Guy Gibrat (+5)
Marcos Araya (+7)
Ignacio González (+6)

Habtoor Polo (+18)
Ahmed Al Habtoor (0)
Guillermo Cuitiño (+6)
Santiago Cernadas (+6)
Martín Iturraspe (+6)

Desert Palm II (+18)
Tarik Al Bawardy (+1)
Tom Brodie (+2)
Diego Cavanagh (+8)
Matías Torres Zavaleta (+7)

Abu Dhabi (+17)
Faris Al Yabhouni (0)
Felipe Martínez Ferrario (+4)
Hugo Barabucci (+6)
Alfredo Cappella (+7)

Ghantoot (+18)
Ali Al Merri (0)
Felipe Llorente (+3)
Juan M. Zavaleta (+7)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)

Edrees Polo (+17)
Sultan Edrees (0)
Juan P. Chavanne (+5)
Juan Ruiz Guiñazú (+7)
Pierre H. H’Goumou (+5)