Visitor record and heartbeat final at the German Polo High Goal Championship at the Berlin Maifeld: Team Riller & Schnauck wins the championship title.

At the end of August, eight international teams again competed for the title of the German High Goal Championship on the historic Maifeld in front of the Berlin Olympic Stadium. After exciting qualifying matches on the polo grounds of the Prussian Polo & Country Club in Phöben, Team Riller & Schnauck and defending champion Engel & Völkers finally faced each other in the final.

Engel & Völkers with Daniel, Caesar and Caspar Crasemann as well as Heinrich Dumrath had already delivered strong matches in the qualification and secured their entry into the final by a golden goal in the match against Team Hotel Gaijin of Caesar Crasemann on Saturday. Maximilian Singhoff, Max Bosch, the Englishman Max Charlton and Christopher Kirsch started for Riller & Schnauck. A team that could combine great experience with speed and great talent. With the 6-goaler Max Charlton and outstanding teamplay by Christopher Kirsch, Riller & Schnauck worked their way up from a 4-1 deficit to a 5-5 tie in the third chukker, which was considered impossible. In the fourth chukker, the Englishman brought his team into the lead. Engel & Völkers was two goals behind, in the last minute Caesar Crasemann caught up to 7-8 as the final score so that Team Riller & Schnauck claimed the championship title 2019.

Third place went to Team Carfactory with Robert Kofler, Alexander Hauptmann, Santiago Marambio and Moritz Gädeke. After a 4-4 equaliser by the Argentinian Manuel Elizalde from Team Hotel Gaijin in the fourth chukker, Moritz Gädeke, co-organiser of the tournament and German national player, scored the 5-4 for Carfactory in the fifth extra-chukker with a golden goal. Clarissa Marggraf from Team Hotel Gaijin was awarded as Most Valuable Player of this year‘s Engel & Völkers Maifeld Cup.

Oliver Winter, President of the German Polo Association (DPV), presented a special tribute to his brother Thomas Winter in front of the tournament audience. Thomas Winter was honored for his achievements and outstanding commitment to the sport of polo. The multiple German Champion plays with the highest German handicap, is co-founder of the Hamburg Win Polo School and is active as a youth trainer, trainer and referee. His long-time supporter and friend Albert „Atti“ Darboven personally gave the laudation on Thomas Winter‘s successful polo career and his great commitment to the sport.

Sylvia Gädeke, President of the Prussian Polo & Country Club Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. and organizer of the Engel & Völkers Maifeld Cup: „We would like to thank the numerous committed partners and helpers for a great tournament experience. We thank the players for their great commitment and fantastic polo moments here on the Maifeld and of course also the numerous spectators. The anticipation of the Maifeld Cup 2020 is already great“.



Maximilian Singhoff (0)
Max Bosch (+3)
Max Charlton (+6)
Christopher Kirsch, TC (+3)

Caesar Craseman (+3)
Caspar Crasemann (+3)
Heinrich Dumrath (+3)
Daniel Crasemann, TC (+1)

Robert Kofler, TC (+1)
Alexander Hauptmann (+2)
Santiago Marambio (+6)
Moritz Gädeke (+3)

Clarissa Marggraf (0)
Nico Wollenberg, TC (+1)
Manuel Elizalde (+6)
Eduardo Anca (+5)

Mathias Grau, TC (0)
Goffredeo Cutinelli (+2)
Gaston Maiquez (+7)
Ignacio Brunetti (+3)

Kutlay Yaprak, TC (0)
Agustin Kronhaus (+3)
Adrian Laplacette (+6)
Lukas Sdrenka (+2)

Ivan Weiss, TC (0)
Thanee Schröder (0)
Horacio F. Llorente (+6)
Dario Musso (+6)

Vanessa Schockemöhle (0)
Patrick Maleitzke, TC (+3)
Joaquin Copello (+3)
Santos Anca (+5)


The Tournament

Since 2010, the 112,000 square metre area has been the venue for the annual Engel & Völkers Berlin Maifeld Cup, which used to be also the German High Goal Polo Championship. In 2016 the Maifeld hosted the European Polo Championship, which Ireland won. The Engel & Völkers Berlin Maifeld Cup has long since become one of the most popular polo events in Germany, attracting thousands of polo fans every year.

© Thomas Wirth