This Friday the 43rd edition of the Land Rover International Polo Tournament starts at Santa María Polo Club in Sotogrande, Spain. From 25th July to 30th August, the day of the great final of the Bulgari Gold Cup, 124 players and about 1,200 horses are expected to participate in the tournament. Now the Santa María Polo Club has announced teams and players.

As in the years before, the teams start in three different leagues: eight teams fight in Low Goal, fourteen teams participate in Medium Goal and twelve teams strive for victory in High Goal. The Gold Cup offers 120 points of the world polo ranking for the winners, the Silver Cup comes up with 80 points.

Players from 17 countries will take part in this tournament, including five 10-goalers: Adolfo Cambiaso, Facundo Pieres, Juan Martín Nero, Gonzalo Pieres and David Stirling. Adolfo Cambiaso is currently considered to be the best player in the world, he holds the top position of the World Polo Tour Ranking. He is followed by Facundo Pieres on position two of the ranking. Both players are considered the major international stars of the sport, where they show their skill, power and technique on the field. Facundo Pieres will play with his brother Gonzalo for Ellerston.

Number 3 and 5 of the World Polo Tour Ranking will also be present at the most important tournament of continental Europe: Juan Martín Nero plays for Lechuza Caracas and David Stirling participates as well in the polo event. Stirling grew up playing in Santa María Polo Club, and this season will be playing for Ayala Polo Club.

Within the Spanish players, there is a young generation of players, which are doing very well nationally and internationally. Outstanding among all the Spanish players is Pelayo Berazadi, 2014 Most Valuable Player at Dubai Gold Cup Final, Pascual Sainz de Vicuña playing for Dos Lunas and Luis Domecq, son of past professional player Nacho Domecq, who last year performed exceptionally well alongside Adolfo Cambiaso, which gave a boost to his career.

The Land Rover International Polo Tournament is one of the most important tournaments in the world and attracts media attention all over the world. ESPN, the most important sports channel in the USA and Latin America, will provide a live coverage, reaching more than 90 million households, a significant number for a polo event. The most important English magazines as well as media from Holland, Russia, Germany and Argentina will be present at this outstanding event.

For everyone who wants to witness the 43rd Land Rover International Polo Tournament first hand, the Santa María Polo Club offers its “Luxury Polo Packages”! The special weekend package (2 nights and 3 days) includes three stick and ball practices or practice chukkas, a VIP box and cocktails to enjoy one of the matches of the Land Rover International Polo Tournament, dinners and a traditional Argentinian asado lunch. The other options, in the longer stay packages (five or seven days), include up to seven days of polo practices, sailing, golf, tours to Gibraltar and the Jerez wineries, and two VIP boxes including cocktails to enjoy even more top notch polo. To see everything which is included in the “Luxury Polo Packages”, the activities you can select and all further information see this PDF: → click here

High Goal Teams:
RH (+22)

Ben Soleimani (0)
Nicolás Pieres (+9)
Facundo Sola (+8)
Santiago Von Wernich (+5)

Ellerston (+22)
Thomas Brodie (+1)
Gonzalo Pieres (+10)
Facundo Pieres (+10)
James Packer (+1)

Ayala (+22)
Iñigo Zobel (+1)
Diego Cavanaugh (+7)
David Stirling (+10)
Iñigo Zobel (+1)

HB Polo (+21)
Ludovic Pailloncy (+1)
Ignacio Toccalino (+8)
Juan Ignacio “Pite” Merlos (+9)
Sebastien Pailloncy (+3)

Las Monjitas (+22)
Camilo Bautista (0)
Tomás Fernández-Llorente (+5)
Eduardo Novillo Astrada (+9)
Alejandro Novillo Astrada (+8)

Lechuza Caracas (+22)
Víctor Vargas (+1)
Francisco Elizalde (+7)
Juan Martín Nero (+10)
Matt Perry (+4)

Valiente (+22)
Robert Jornayvaz (+1)
Santiago Laborde (+5)
Adolfo Cambiaso (+10)
Santiago Torres (+6)

Dos Lunas Banco Espirito Santo (+22)
Luis Domecq (+3)
Pascual Sainz de Vicuña (+6)
Agustín García Grossi (+7)
Martín Iturraspe (+6)

Halcyon Gallery (+22)
Charles Hanbury (+4)
Juan Chavanne (+5)
Guillermo Terrera (+8)
Max Routledge (+5)

Royal Salute Scotch Whisky (+22)
Corine Ricard / Roger Carlson (0)
Lucas James (+8)
Jaime García Huidobro (+8)
Malcolm Borwick (+6)

La Indiana (+22)
Michael Bickford (+1)
Marcos Araya (+6)
John Paul Clarkin (+8)
Jack Baillieu (+7)

King Power (+22)
Top Srivaddhannaprabha (0)
Alejandro Muzzio (+8)
Marcos Dipaola (+8)
Martini Espain (+6)

Medium Goal Teams:
Woodchester (+12)

Craig Mckinney (+1)
TBA (0)
Tomás Ruiz Guiñazu (+7)
Pelayo Berazadi (+4)

Equus (+12)
Peter Silling (0)
Juan Britos (+5)
James Beim (+7)
Hugo Lewis (0)

Silex (+12)
Richard Fagan (+1)
Juan Jose Storni (+5)
Santiago Cernadas (+6)
Felipe Serra (0)

Sapphire – Dr. “A” (+12)
Abdelrahman Abbar (0)
Maximiliano Malacalza (+4)
Tomás Pieres (+7)
Lawrence Isola (+1)

Sainte Mesme (+12)
Por determinar (+2)
Robert Strom (+3)
Clemente Zabaleta (+6)
Birger Strom (+1)

FCT (+12)
Roger Carlsson (0)
Mario Gómez (+4)
Michel del Carril (+7)
Sebastian Hancock (+1)

Seven Sevens (+12)
Dimitri Vozianov (0)
Tomas Garbarini (+4)
Nicolas Espain (+7)
Nikita Vozianov (+1)

El Rosario (+12)
Alejandro Peñafiel (0)
Juan Zubiaurre (+4)
Salvador Ulloa (+7)
Por confirmar (+1)

Lebeau – Courally (+12)
Ian Galliene (+1)
Ali Paterson (+3)
Cristian Bernal (+5)
Gaetan Charloux (+3)

Scapa – John Smith (+12)
Michael Redding (+1)
Juan Greguoli (+4)
Juan Losada (+6)
Gabriel Aguirre (+1)

Wild Orchid (+12)
Raya Sidorenko (0)
Santiago Tanoira (+6)
Gerardo Mazzini (+6)
Zhana Bandurko (0)

Mahra – Esperanza (+12)
Rashid Al Habtoor (0)
Patricio Neves (+4)
Guillermo Cuitiño (+6)
Kevin Korst (+2)

Leones (+12)
Petrus Fernandini (+1)
Ricky Trujillo (+3)
Guillermo Li (+5)
Ignacio Domecq (+3)

Dragones (+12)
Yago Espinosa de los Monteros (+2)
Pablo Spinacci (+6)
Diogo Gallego (+4)
Andrew Nulty (0)

Low Goal Teams:
Bayswater (+6)

Pablo Mora (+1)
Francisco G. Melero (+1)
Segundo F. Llorente (+4)
Ramón Beca (0)

Silex (+6)
Rosendo Torreguitar (0)
Álvaro Álvarez (+2)
Santiago Torreguitar / Jack Kidd (+3)
Richard Fagan (+1)

Shakib Polo (+6)
Sebastien Aguettant (0)
Mariano Iturrioz (+2)
Álvaro Ara (+4)
Kaveh Shakib (0)

Sardeñola (+6)
Daniel Entrecanales (0)
Jose Trenor (+2)
Miguel Amieva (+4)
Arturo Figar (0)

Huntsman (+6)
Aristide Faggionato (0)
Dillon Bacon (+1)
Felipe Gómez (+1)
Iván Maldonado (+4)